Our approach to developing accreditation standards is always robust, transparent, and consultative. This work will follow our usual processes for developing accreditation standards.


Our governance structure ensures transparency, consistency, responsiveness, equity, inclusiveness, accountability and effectiveness.

The APC Board will have overall governance and responsibility of the project. An Expert Advisory Group will provide input and advice on the development of the standards and supporting documents. The membership will reflect experience and expertise in medication management reviews, aged care on-site pharmacists, and education.


We will consult with key stakeholders to help us develop:

  • new standards
  • performance outcomes framework
  • an evidence guide
  • an accreditation system
  • role descriptions/professional practice profiles.

Our stakeholders include:

  • pharmacists and pharmacy students
  • education providers
  • pharmacy professional organisations
  • aged care providers and professionals
  • consumers and patients
  • First Nations people and organisations
  • health professionals.

Feedback and consultations

We will gather feedback from our stakeholders through methods including:

  • an online survey
  • in person at forums
  • in writing
  • during one-on-one interviews.
Learn more about contributing your feedback.

Project Governance

Expert Advisory Group (EAG)

Prof Debra Rowett - EAG Chair

University of South Australia

Ms Kerri Barwick

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA)

A/Prof Juanita Breen

University of Tasmania

Ms Sofia Cabrera

Australasian College of Pharmacy (ACP)

Ms Lois Fordham

Goodwin Aged Care Services

Ms Kylee Hayward

The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA)

Ms Margaret Jordan

University of Sydney

Dr Mark Naunton

University of Canberra

Dr Amy Page

University of Western Australia

Dr Lisa Pont

University of Technology Sydney

Ms Debbie Rigby

DR Pharmacy Consulting/Pharmeducation

Mr Greg Scarlett

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia (PGA)

Mr Julian Soriano

Tanunda Lutheran Home

Dr Andrew Stafford

Curtin University

Project team

Ms Bronwyn Clark


Ms Glenys Wilkinson

APC Deputy CEO

Ms Claire Bekema

APC Director Standards Development

Ms Kate Spencer

APC Director Accreditation and Assessments

Ms Tiara Miller

APC Administrative Support Officer

Contact information

For any enquiries about the development of the accreditation standards, please contact us at standards@pharmacycouncil.org.au


Was this page helpful?