The Council of Pharmacy Schools Australia and New Zealand (CPS) has elected a new President for the next 3 years. Congratulations to Professor Debra Rowett PSM from the University of South Australia.

Debra is a well-known colleague of the Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) as she serviced on the APC Board as Chair from 2015 - 2018 and as a Director from 2009. She also chaired the APC Accreditation Committee for many years.

We also want to congratulate Professor Andrew McLachlan AM (University of Sydney) for his new position as Vice President, and Prof Mark Naunton (University of Canberra) for continuing as Treasurer.

"We know the depths of Debra's leadership, experience and expertise, and we know with her in this role, partnered with Andrew, pharmacy education is in excellent hands, " said APC Chair, Associate Professor Sue Kirsa.

We also want to thank Professor Peter J Little AM, for his hard work within pharmacy education over his term as President for the previous 4 years.

"Peter has done exceptionally well in engaging Australian and New Zealand pharmacy schools and building relationships where progress can be achieved. We've very much appreciated how we've been able to work together, under his leadership" said APC CEO Bronwyn Clark.

Most recently CPS have been working on an initiative advocating for the introduction of a Master’s Degree (Extended), an Australian Qualification Framework Level 9 and the use of the title "Dr". APC and CPS have also been working closely to support Schools of Pharmacy during the COVID-19 pandemic.

You may also like…

Was this page helpful?