The Dr Erica Sainsbury Awards have been established to recognise and reward leaders in pharmacy education and practice.

We have established these awards to honour Dr Erica Sainsbury for the legacy she left in pharmacy education. These awards are fully funded by the APC.

Erica taught for over 30 years at the School of Pharmacy, University of Sydney and who sadly passed away in December of 2021. She also worked closely with the APC to develop accreditation standards, complete and publish several expansive literature reviews including for improving Indigenous health, write examination questions and produce intern workplace-based assessment tools.


Applications for 2023 are now closed. Applications for 2024 will be open between 1 July 2024 and 30 September 2024.

The presentation of the award is to be made at the APC’s annual Emeritus Lloyd Sansom AO Distinguished Lecture series held in Canberra in November each year.

Dr Erica Sainsbury Early Career Pharmacy Educator Award

This award recognises and rewards an individual who demonstrates innovation and passion in teaching and who places students first and foremost.

See criteria

Dr Erica Sainsbury Pharmacist Supervisor Award

This award recognises and rewards pharmacists who display the attributes and skills considered invaluable in the training of pharmacy interns during the period of supervised practice.

See criteria

For questions and enquiries write to us on

Was this page helpful?