The Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) proudly announces the inaugural Dr Erica Sainsbury Awards. The awards have been established to recognise and reward leaders in pharmacy education and practice who have demonstrated a commitment to investing in the pharmacists of the future.

The award is named after Dr Erica Sainsbury who taught for over 30 years at the Sydney School of Pharmacy and who sadly passed away in December of 2021. Dr Sainsbury also worked closely with the Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) to develop accreditation standards, complete and publish several expansive literature reviews including for improving Indigenous health, write examination questions and produce intern workplace-based assessment tools.

Chief Executive Officer Bronwyn Clark says the APC has established this award to honour Dr Sainsbury for the legacy she left in pharmacy education.

"Erica was a dear friend, extraordinary mentor, and life long learner whose legacy will not be forgotten. The awards are provided to individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to advancing pharmacy education and inspiring the pharmacists of the future to learn and do good," says Ms Clark.

The awards include:

  • Dr Erica Sainsbury Early Career Pharmacy Educator Award, which recognises and rewards an individual who demonstrates innovation and passion in teaching and who places students first and foremost.
  • Dr Erica Sainsbury Pharmacist Supervisor Award, which recognises and rewards pharmacists who display the attributes and skills considered invaluable in the training of pharmacy interns during the period of supervised practice.

The presentation of the awards will be made at the APC’s annual Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO Distinguished Lecture series held in Canberra in November each year.

Learn more about nominating and applying for these awards.

You may also like…

Was this page helpful?