The Accreditation Committee is an operational committee of the Australian Pharmacy Council (APC). 

The Committee makes accreditation decisions in line with the Board's policies.


The Accreditation Committee decides on and monitors the accreditation of programs and continuing professional development (CPD) accrediting organisations.

The Committee does not replace stakeholder consultation.

2024 Meeting dates

  • 13 February 2024
  • 14 May 2024
  • 6 August 2024
  • 26 November 2024

2025 Meeting dates

  • 4 March 2025
  • 27 May 2025
  • 19 August 2025
  • 11 November 2025

The deadline for submitting information to be presented to the Committee is several weeks prior to the meeting. Please contact our accreditation team for specific details.


The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) appoints committee members, based on strict selection criteria.

Members include experts from pharmacy, academia and the community.

  • Professor Nick Shaw (Chair)
  • Professor Rhonda Clifford
  • Professor Timothy Chen
  • Professor Lisa Pont
  • Dr Hilai Ahmadzai
  • Mrs Justine Ayre
  • Mr Adam Forrest
  • Ms Chastina Heck
  • Dr Jared Miles
  • Dr Marg Gatling
  • Dr Fiona Tito Wheatland

Committee By-Law

This By-Law describes the membership, function and responsibilities of the Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) Accreditation Committee (AC) in accordance with the Objects in the Constitution.

The APC AC is an operational committee that reports to the Chief Executive Officer (CEO). It is responsible for making decisions on accreditation matters for APC in accordance with policies set by the APC Board.

As per the APC Constitution, this By-Law sets out the AC’s objectives and role. In the event of any inconsistency between the APC Constitution and this By-Law, the APC Constitution prevails.

The role of the AC is to:

  • Report accreditation decisions on matters that fall under the National Law to the Pharmacy Board of Australia (PharmBA) via APC.
  • Conduct its affairs under this By-Law, and according to policies and guidelines approved by the Board.
  • Decide and monitor the accreditation of pharmacy degree and intern training programs against the relevant accreditation standards.
  • Report accreditation decisions on matters that fall under the National Law to the Pharmacy Board of Australia (PharmBA) via APC.
  • Make recommendations to the APC Board on the following matters (which are not accreditation decisions to be made by the AC): 
    • revoking the accreditation of a program
    • granting, revoking or extending the accreditation of an international degree program.
  • Undertake any other accreditation activities referred to it by the CEO.

The AC is a skills-based committee. Members are appointed as individuals, not representatives of their organisations.

The AC is comprised of up to twelve individuals which includes at least one APC Board Director.

A quorum at every meeting shall be formed by seven members of the committee, one of whom must be the Chair or Deputy Chair.

4.1 Skills and attributes

4.1.1 All members

All AC members are expected to have experience on decision-making committees and be able to synthesise complex information to make decisions or develop recommendations for the APC Board.

4.1.2 Position specifications

Each AC position has skills and attributes that are unique to the role. These are described in Appendix A: Accreditation Committee Positions.

4.2 Chair

The Chair will be appointed by the APC Board in accordance with the skills, experience and terms described in this By-Law.

4.3 Deputy Chair

The Deputy Chair will be appointed by the CEO following a nomination and voting process within the AC.

The Deputy Chair will be an individual who has been appointed to the AC in position two.

The Deputy Chair acts in the role of Chair if the Chair is unable to fulfil their responsibilities. This may be due to Chair absence (for a full meeting) or conflict with a specific agenda item during a meeting.

4.4 Quorum

A quorum at every meeting shall be formed by 50% plus one, which is seven members of the committee.

Vacant AC positions will be advertised publicly via an EOI process.

A Selection Committee may be appointed by the CEO to develop recommendations for appointments.

All members (including the Chair and Deputy Chair) can be appointed for up to three terms for periods of up to 3 years.

The APC CEO (at their discretion) can make an exception to the maximum term limits described in this By-Law for individuals appointed to the AC if needed to ensure that the required level of knowledge and expertise is maintained within the overall composition of the AC.

AC members are required to:

  • complete induction training at the commencement of their appointment
  • complete cultural safety training as prescribed by APC within 6 months of appointment
  • meet relevant APC policies and codes for the duration of their AC appointment. This includes (but is not limited to):
    • Code of Conduct for Committee Members
    • Conflict of Interest Policy
    • Duties and Responsibilities of Committee Members

Pharmacist and academic members will be eligible for inclusion on the APC Assessor Register, and are strongly encouraged to attend at least one accreditation site visit within their term of appointment.

The AC will meet up to six times a year.

A minimum of two meetings each year will be held face to face. The remainder will be via video conference.

If required in exceptional circumstances, decisions may be made by the AC between scheduled meetings via the APC Decision by Electronic Resolution Policy.

Agenda papers will be distributed electronically in advance of each meeting.

  • Code of Conduct for Committee Members
  • Conflict of Interest Policy
  • Decision by Electronic Resolution Policy
  • Duties and Responsibilities of Committee Members

Position number



Number of appointees



Pharmacy academic with extensive experience in tertiary pharmacy education.

Current or previous pharmacy program leader.

Experience chairing committees or boards in the academic sector.



Pharmacy academic

Pharmacy academic with experience in tertiary pharmacy education, including curriculum design, clinical education and assessment methods.



Pharmacy educator 

Pharmacy educator with experience in post graduate program design and delivery.

Up to 2


Practising pharmacist

Pharmacist with experience in contemporary pharmacy practice including the supervision of pharmacy students, interns and/or pharmacists undertaking post graduate education.

Holds current general registration with PharmBA.



Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander member

Individual with cultural capacity and demonstrated connection to country and community who identifies as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander.

Experience on a health, regulatory or accreditation decision-making body.

Understanding of the higher education sector.



Interprofessional member

Individual with expertise in interprofessional learning, assessment or accreditation from a non-pharmacy profession.



Community member

Individual with experience as a community representative on a health, regulatory or accreditation decision-making body.

Understanding of the higher education sector.

Experience with bringing a national consumer perspective to decision-making.


Was this page helpful?