The Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO Distinguished Lecture Series serves as a premiere platform for renown and respected leaders in pharmacy to share their deep expertise, insights, and experiences with members and stakeholders.

The annual Sansom Lecture is named after Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO, whose profound impact on pharmacy education in Australia spans over four decades.

Register now

2023 Lecture

  • Monday 13 November 2023
  • 4pm AEDT
  • National Portrait Gallery, Canberra
  • Free

The 1-hour lecture will be followed by drinks and canapes.

Paul Sinclair AM

Paul is a Sydney based community pharmacist who has had a wide-ranging career in pharmacy ownership, pharmacy representation, pharmacy regulation, not for profit organisations and local government.

Paul is currently the President of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) and is a member of the FIP Bureau.

His previous roles include National Vice President & NSW President, Pharmacy Guild of Australia , Chair, Board of Pharmaceutical Practice, FIP, and Chair of the Australian Association of Accredited Pharmacists.

He's been a member of the Pharmacy Council NSW, Asthma Foundation Queensland/NSW, and Asthma Australia. He was the Founding Chair, Kids of Macarthur Health Foundation, Chair, Myrtle Cottage Group and Councillor and Mayor, Campbelltown City Council. He has been awarded 2019 Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in Australia Day Honours List, 2017 Fellowship, International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), 2013 Sydney University Faculty of Pharmacy Alumni Award and 2011 Paul Harris Fellowship (Rotary).

Learn more about Paul Sinclair AM

Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO

Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO, an academic, policy advisor and researcher is a founding member of the Australian Pharmacy Examining Council (APEC), since its inception in 1982 - now known as APC! He has served as both a Board member and Chair of the APC Examining Committee, as well as chairing the Australian Pharmaceutical Advisory Council and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee.

"Only the future can be moulded to one which is the preferred future. If you want to do that, then you'll have to commit to excellence, to boldness of leadership, preparedness to change, and reinforcement of the fundamental principles of human rights and dignity. APC has shown itself and continues to show itself to be ready for that challenge for the future." - Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO

Previous Lectures

2017 - Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO

2017 marked the beginning of the lecture series with Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom as the speaker, reflecting on his journey and the pharmacy sector's evolution over time.

Read Professor Lloyd Sansom leaves legacy at Australian Pharmacy Council

2018 - Professor Debra Rowett PSM

The event welcomed Professor Debra Rowett PSM as its speaker in 2018. Former APC President and Accreditation Committee Chair, Debra was instrumental APC's strategic direction as it stands today. In 2018, Debra spoke on the significance of interprofessional communication and practice.

Read Influencing Interprofessional Communication and Practice lecture series

2019 - Professor Faye McMillan AM

In 2019, Professor Faye McMillan AM, Wiradjuri yinaa, spoke at the event about creating a health profession where First Nations peoples feel valued. "Yindyamarra (respect) your Narrative" provided a message of understanding who you are determines the relationships you build.

Faye was appointed as APC's first Indigenous Board Director in 2019, and currently leads our Indigenous Health Strategy Group and the Leaders in Indigenous Pharmacy Professions Education (LIPPE) Network. Faye has been awarded the Medal (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for “significant service to Indigenous mental health, and to tertiary education”.

Read We need to be an inspiration for their aspirations!

2021 - Online event to launch our RAP

In 2021, the event focussed on the conclusion of our 4-part series on embedding cultural safety into pharmacy education. Panellists explored our journey so far, the importance of creating safe spaces, the value of respectful listening, and humanising the pharmacy profession.

APC also launched their Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan.

Read APC affirms its Reconciliation Journey

2022 - 40 years of the APC

The most recent Sansom Lecture celebrated 40 years of the APC. The room heard from Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO, Professor Debra Rowett, Professor Kirstie Galbraith, and Alex Burke, Wiradjuri man and PhD candidate, and was facilitated by our leader and Chair Associate Professor Sue Kirsa.

The panellists, each having influenced APC's evolution, spoke about the many innovations and projects that have impacted the pharmacy profession and public health at large.

To this day, Emeritus Professor Sansom still contributes to the development of APC's exams.

Read From knitting needles to outcome-based standards - 40 years of APC | Australian Pharmacy Council

You may also like…

Was this page helpful?