Accreditation Committee. ">

The Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) has started a new chapter after appointing 5 individuals to their Accreditation Committee.

We are delighted to welcome:

  • Professor Timothy Chen, Professor of Medication Management, The University of Sydney
  • Dr Lisa Pont, Associate Professor, University of Technology Sydney
  • Dr Erica Sainsbury, Independent Consultant, and Honorary Senior Lecturer, The University of Sydney
  • Associate Professor Maree Toombs, Associate Dean Indigenous Engagement, Faculty of Medicine, The University of Queensland
  • Dr Margaret Gatling, Director Accreditation Services, Australian Nursing & Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC)

After receiving applications well beyond the expected number, the Selection Committee had an especially difficult decision to make.

APC CEO Bronwyn Clark says, “We are delighted to welcome these members to our Committee. They will bring experience and perspectives from our profession, other health professions and our First Nations peoples.

"I am looking forward to working with them all. I also want to thank the Selection Committee for the difficult task of choosing members from such a strong group of applicants," Ms Clark said.

Executive Director Professional Services, Glenys Wilkinson says, "We thank everyone who applied as part of the Expression of Interest process. We were delighted receive an exceptionally high number of quality applications and to see such high interest in supporting our work.

"We would also like to acknowledge the contribution made by retiring Accreditation Committee member Dr Pam Montgomery, over the last 5 years," Ms Wilkinson said.

The committee members will begin their 3-year term in late September 2020.

The Accreditation Committee makes the final decision on all accreditation activities. They review all pharmacy program assessments, executed by Site Evaluation Teams, and decides whether to accredit or re-accredit that program.

The Committee requires skills, knowledge and experience from across pharmacy and across health professions. This is to ensure accreditation processes truly reflect APC standards and the ever-evolving healthcare environment.

Media Contact
Glenys Wilkinson
Executive Director Professional Services
+61 2 6188 4288

You may also like…

Was this page helpful?