The Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) is delighted to announce new leadership of the APC Board.

After 6 years as Chair, Assoc Prof. Sue Kirsa is passing the mantle to Deputy Chair Prof. Sarah Roberts-Thomson. Assoc Prof. Kirsa will remain on the Board as a Director.

The APC gratefully thanks Assoc Prof. Kirsa and recognises the extraordinary leadership she has demonstrated, which has been instrumental in driving innovation in pharmacy education throughout Australia. She has guided the organisation through the COVID years as the APC pivoted services and moved examinations online as needed. Her time as Chair has seen tremendous growth of the APC with increasing demand for services, and the new initiatives to develop new standards and programs for Prescribing and ACOP/MMR pharmacists.

Assoc Prof. Sue Kirsa says it has been an honour and a privilege to chair the Board of the APC over the past 6 years.

"Over that time, the APC has grown significantly, developed and implemented a range of new standards, introduced workplace-based assessments for the Intern year, significantly improved the candidate experience for overseas trained pharmacists and accredited a number of new programs of study," she stated.

"Our focus on contributing to improved health outcomes for our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, through the support of LIPPE is in its infancy, but will continue to grow and develop in the future. I am proud of the way our Board provides support to our APC Executive to achieve excellent outcomes for our clients and stakeholders.

"I am confident that the APC will continue to develop and thrive under the leadership of our new Chair, Sarah Roberts-Thomson,” Assoc Prof. Kirsa concluded.

APC CEO, Bronwyn Clark commented on Assoc Prof. Kirsa's tenure.

"Sue has been a fabulous leader, who has guided the APC with compassion, courage, and a drive to create change in pharmacy education through quality assurance and standard-setting. She leaves a legacy of excellence beyond compare, and I am eternally grateful to her," said Ms Clark.

The APC welcomes Prof. Roberts-Thomson as incoming Chair for a 2 year-term. She was appointed to the APC Board in February 2018 and elected as Deputy Chair in June 2020, where she has contributed her experience in leading large interprofessional educational initiatives.

Prof. Roberts-Thomson is Deputy Executive Dean Academic at The University of Sydney, Faculty of Medicine and Health. Her previous role was Head of School at the School of Pharmacy, University of Queensland. Her career spans more than 30 years as a pharmacist with experience in clinical pharmacy, leadership, mentoring, and tertiary education. She is a Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy of the United Kingdom and has received a Fellowship of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia.

"I am honoured to assume the role of Chair of the Australian Pharmacy Council at this important time for the pharmacy profession. Sue Kirsa, who has served as the Chair of the Board with distinction since 2018, has been a passionate advocate and a dedicated leader for both pharmacy and the APC. Her legacy of commitment and excellence sets a high standard that I am committed to upholding," stated Prof. Roberts-Thomson.

Alongside Prof. Roberts-Thomson, the APC also welcomes Prof. Kirstie Galbraith as Deputy Chair, who has been an APC Board Director since June 2021. Prof. Galbraith is Professor (Practice) and Director of Experiential Development and Graduate Education in the Pharmacy Faculty of Monash University.

The APC looks forward to future endeavours under the new leadership.

Pictured from left to right: Former APC President, Prof Debra Rowett PSM, in-coming Chair Prof Sarah Roberts-Thomson, Former Chair Assoc Prof Sue Kirsa.

For more information see our Board of Directors.

You may also like…

Was this page helpful?