The Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) announces 5 additional Indigenous members across APC's Board of Directors and Committees to help influence their work in developing and supporting a culturally safe pharmacy workforce.

The APC welcomes:

  • Aleena Williams to the Board of Directors
  • Chastina Heck to the Accreditation Committee
  • Lloyd Dolan to the Indigenous Health Strategy Group
  • Alex Burke to the Indigenous Health Strategy Group
  • Anna Tiatia Fa'atoese Latu to the Indigenous Health Strategy Group

"The APC’s Strategic Directions for 2022 – 2027 include a pillar on First Nations Health and a commitment to a health system free of racism and discrimination by contributing to a culturally safe pharmacy workforce in Australia. To do this, we want to ensure First Nations Peoples' voices are leading and guiding that work," said APC's Chair Associate Professor Sue Kirsa.

At the 2022 AGM, APC members agreed to a change to the APC Constitution, allowing an additional First Nations Director to be appointed to the APC Board. The APC Board also amended the Accreditation Committee By-Law to include an additional member who identifies as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander. These changes enable 2 First Nations people to sit on each body rather than one.

APC's newest Board Director Aleena Williams is a Yugambeh woman from South-East Queensland, and is the Director of Immunisations and Notifiable Diseases at NT Health. Aleena currently sits on APC's Indigenous Health Strategy Group, LIPPE Steering Committee, and has provided guidance throughout APC's Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan journey.

Chastina Heck is a Nywaigi, Mamu, Bidjara woman. She is currently Pharmacy Manager, Gove District Hospital, Nhulunbuy, Northern Territory and is a Conjoint Associate Lecturer in the School of Pharmacy at the University of Queensland. Chastina also sits on APC's Indigenous Health Strategy Group and LIPPE Steering Committee.

"Aleena and Chastina are two of our brightest and most engaged pharmacists who are Aboriginal. We are delighted to welcome them to leadership roles at APC where they will be able to influence our work in developing and supporting a culturally safe pharmacist workforce," said APC's CEO Bronwyn Clark.

The APC appointed 3 members to the Indigenous Health Strategy Group (IHSG), of which provides advice and expertise on decisions relating to APC's strategy. Its aim is to ensure Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and Māori voices are heard, and their varying perspectives guide APC's work.

New IHSG members:

  • Alex Burke - a Wiradjuri pharmacist who is undertaking a PhD at the University of Sydney looking at the cultural safety training of pharmacists and pharmacy students specifically around First Nations people.
  • Lloyd Dolan - a Wiradjuri man, and Academic Lead (First Nations) at Charles Sturt University.
  • Anna Tiatia Fa'atoese Latu - a Senior Lecturer, Pūkenga Matua, at the University of Otago, New Zealand.

Learn more about these members on the IHSG page.

To learn more about APC's Board and Committees, see APC's Governance.

You may also like…

Was this page helpful?